FPA 2022 Distinguished Career Awards

July 5, 2022

Fusion Power Associates (FPA) Board of Directors has selected the recipients of its 2022 Distinguished Career Awards. The awards will be presented at Fusion Power Associates 43rd Annual Meeting and Symposium, Pathways to Fusion Power, December 7-8, in Washington, DC.

FPA Distinguished Career Awards have been given annually since 1987 to recognize individuals who have made distinguished lifelong career contributions to fusion energy development. A list of previous recipients is at https://fusionpower.org and click on Awards.

2022 Distinguished Career Awards will be presented to
  Richard Hazeltine (University of Texas, Austin)
and to
  Kenichi Kurihara (Naka Fusion Institute, QST and MEXT)

Richard Hazeltine is recognized for his numerous scientific contributions to plasma physics and fusion, as well as for the leadership he has provided over many decades in guiding the fusion community towards its ultimate goal of providing the world with a new, non-polluting energy source, including as chair of the RENEW committee and chair of FESAC.

Kenichi Kurihara is recognized for his significant technical contributions to the successful operation of the JT-60 and JT-60SA tokamaks, for his leadership during the establishment of the "broader approach" agreement between the EU and Japan that enabled the world effort to site and begin construction of the ITER fusion project, and for his leadership of the Naka Fusion Institute.

Richard Hazeltine can be contacted at rdh@austin.utexas.edu
Kenichi Kurihara can be contacted at kurihara.kenichi@hb.tp1.jp