Fusion Scientists to Receive Lawrence Awards

July 8, 2022

U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm announced ten U.S. scientists and engineers as recipients of the prestigious Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award for their exceptional contributions in research and development supporting the Energy Department's missions in science, energy, and national security. Established in 1959, the Lawrence Award recognizes mid-career U.S. scientists and engineers who have advanced new research and scientific discovery in nine categories representing the broad science and engineering missions of DOE and its programs. The awards are among the longest running and most prestigious science and technology awards bestowed by the U.S. Government.

"I am thrilled to recognize these researchers and the significant advances they have contributed to society. Scientists like these individuals are the backbone of DOE and we cannot achieve our mission without them. I'm excited to see what the future holds for them and where they may lead us," said Asmeret Asefaw Berhe, Director of the DOE Office of Science.

In honor of the recipients and their accomplishments, DOE will host a hybrid award ceremony in Washington, DC, on September 22, 2022. Proceedings will be broadcast live online, and a recording will be available following the event. For more information, and to RSVP for the Lawrence Awards ceremony, go to https://science.osti.gov/lawrence/Ceremony. Please RSVP by September 15, 2022. The fusion scientists recognized are:

Luis Chacón (Los Alamos National Laboratory) - Fusion and Plasma Sciences - Honored for his "seminal contributions in multiscale algorithms for fluid, kinetic, and hybrid simulation of plasmas, enabling scientific breakthroughs in fast magnetic reconnection and self-organization in magnetic fusion systems, and in reactivity degradation in inertial fusion systems."

Daniel B. Sinars (Sandia National Laboratories) - National Security and Nonproliferation - Honored for his "pioneering development of seminal X-ray diagnostics and their innovative application to z-pinch implosions that transformed the experimental capabilities on the Z pulsed power facility and enabled novel, record-breaking platforms supporting our nation's nuclear security."

Sinars is a member of Fusion Power Associates Board of Directors.

Luis Chacón can be reached at chacon@lanl.gov
Daniel Sinars can be reached at dbsinar@sandia.gov