FPA 2022 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards

August 16, 2022

FPA Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards have been given annually since 1987, in memory of MIT Professor David J. Rose, to recognize persons in the relatively early part of their careers who have shown both technical accomplishment and potential to become exceptionally influential leaders in the fusion field.

2022 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards will be presented to Zach Hartwig (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and to Nikolai Norausky (General Atomics).

Zach Hartwig is recognized for his role in the development of the new REBCO-based superconducting technology, including the demonstration of the 20T coil, for contributions to fusion engineering related to in-situ surface diagnostics, and for the guidance he is providing to a new generation of fusion engineers.

Nikolai Norausky is recognized for leadership and technical contributions to the fabrication of the ITER Central Solenoid magnet, for the application and significance of his work to future fusion devices, specifically in the areas of Cable in Conduit Conductor and Demountable Joints using High Temperature Superconductors.

It is planned to present the awards at Fusion Power Associates 43nd annual meeting December 7-8 in Washington, DC. A list of previous recipients and information on the annual meeting are posted at https://fusionpower.org